Ford Transit Custom Phev, Explorer, Transit Custom, Transit Custom. Published by the DVSA as R/2024/011 on 12 February 2024.
Is your vehicle included? Check with your VIN at the DVSA, or ask a dealer. This page is an independent copy of the notice, kept so you can see what changed after it was published. It is not the authority, and the authority’s own text is the one to act on.
A recall published by DVSA, the British vehicle safety authority, with every version of its wording that this site has read. Unchanged since first read.
| DVSA reference | R/2024/011 |
|---|---|
| Launched | 12 February 2024 |
| Make | Ford (listed as FORD) |
| Manufacturer reference | 23S53 |
| Vehicles listed | 1,153 |
Models
| Model | Vehicles | Built from | Built to |
|---|---|---|---|
| Transit Custom PHEV | not stated | 25 July 2022 | 30 July 2022 |
| Explorer | 1 | 20 May 2020 | 20 May 2020 |
| Transit Custom | 36 | 21 September 2019 | 9 March 2020 |
| Transit Custom | 11 | 18 July 2020 | 5 November 2020 |
| Transit Custom | 11 | 19 December 2020 | 23 December 2020 |
| Transit Custom | 69 | 14 September 2021 | 14 December 2021 |
| Transit Custom | 5 | 10 June 2022 | 27 July 2022 |
| Transit Custom | 171 | 19 September 2019 | 14 May 2020 |
| Transit Custom | 326 | 4 June 2020 | 5 November 2020 |
| Transit Custom | 231 | 22 October 2020 | 1 February 2021 |
| Transit Custom | 145 | 1 February 2021 | 17 April 2021 |
| Transit Custom | 92 | 29 September 2021 | 30 March 2022 |
| Transit Custom | 48 | 18 April 2022 | 10 June 2022 |
| Transit Custom | 6 | 25 July 2022 | 30 July 2022 |
| Explorer | 1 | 6 November 2019 | 6 November 2019 |
| Explorer PHEV | not stated | 6 November 2019 | 6 November 2019 |
| Transit Custom PHEV | not stated | 14 September 2021 | 14 December 2021 |
| Transit Custom PHEV | not stated | 21 September 2019 | 9 March 2020 |
| Transit Custom PHEV | not stated | 10 June 2022 | 27 July 2022 |
| Transit Custom PHEV | not stated | 1 February 2021 | 17 April 2021 |
| Transit Custom PHEV | not stated | 19 September 2019 | 14 May 2020 |
| Transit Custom PHEV | not stated | 4 June 2020 | 5 November 2020 |
| Transit Custom PHEV | not stated | 18 April 2022 | 10 June 2022 |
| Transit Custom PHEV | not stated | 19 December 2020 | 23 December 2020 |
| Transit Custom PHEV | not stated | 29 September 2021 | 30 March 2022 |
| Transit Custom PHEV | not stated | 22 October 2020 | 1 February 2021 |
| Transit Custom PHEV | not stated | 18 July 2020 | 5 November 2020 |
| Explorer PHEV | not stated | 20 May 2020 | 20 May 2020 |
Concern
Defect, as DVSA words it
Remedy, as DVSA words it
What changed since we first read it
Nothing yet. The wording has been the same on every read since 4 September 2026. The file is read again every day; if DVSA rewrites the defect, remedy or concern, the old and new text will appear here with both dates.
The same recall in other registers
| United States | NHTSA campaign 23V626, 9 August 2023 (filed 187 days before the UK launch) |
|---|---|
| Canada | Transport Canada recall 2023507, 12 September 2023 |
| European Union | Safety Gate alert A12/02543/23 from Germany, 20/10/2023 |
Matched through the manufacturer's own reference (23S53), which the registers share. See the same recall, Britain and America.
Check this recall on the DVSA service
Read from DVSA's bulk recalls file (RecallsFile.csv, 7 MB) on 17 September 2026; this recall first read on 4 September 2026, read 15 times since. Contains public sector information licensed under the Open Government Licence v3.0. Source: DVSA, Check vehicle recalls. CarsMultiverse is an independent site, not an authority: the official notice is the one on the DVSA service.
Ford elsewhere in this register
Ford is named on 371 notices in the copy of the DVSA’s register held here, of which these are the nearest to this one in time.
- R/2024/042 · 18 February 2024 · Ranger, Ranger · 23C27 - Ranger - Front wiper motor linkage inspection
- R/2023/341 · 19 February 2024 · Kuga, Kuga, Kuga · 23S57 Kuga - Steering gear top plug potentially loose
- R/2024/033 · 5 February 2024 · Ranger · The incorrect Front Propeller Shaft may have been installed.
- R/2024/047 · 22 February 2024 · Transit Custom, Transit Custom, Transit Custom · Software Update for Advanced Driver Assistance System (ADAS) Incomplete
- R/2023/175 · 26 February 2024 · S-Max/Galaxy, Kuga, S-Max/Galaxy · 23S27 Kuga S-Max/Galaxy 2.5L HEV/PHEV Engine: Engine Compartment Issue
- R/2024/025 · 30 January 2024 · Transit Custom · Incorrect instructions for setting passenger airbag deactivation in the printed Owner s Manual if fitted and in the SYNC4 instructions. The customer may be unable to identify how to switch OFF/ON the passenger airbag when installing a rear-facing child seat.
- R/2023/316 · 11 March 2024 · Explorer, Explorer, Explorer · 23S55 - Explorer - Rear axle bolt potential fracture
- R/2024/129 · 14 March 2024 · Transit Courier, Tourneo Courier · Potential touch condition between brake line union nut and fuel tank
Reading this against the source
This page is what the DVSA published in its file of vehicle recalls, kept as it was read. The authority publishes only its current wording; if a notice is rewritten, the earlier version disappears there and is kept here. The whole register is at /uk-recalls, and how the reading is done is set out in the method.
This notice names one vehicle among several registers that have written about it. Every notice this site holds for the Ford Explorer, in all seven, is kept on that vehicle's own page, with the newest in each.
Put this notice on your site
A small badge that links here and names the register's reference. It costs one line of HTML and needs no key.
The badge is free to use. It links to this page and nowhere else, and it never shows advertising.
Owners of these cars
No register publishes what happens after the letter. Owners do: tell us, in two taps.
Anonymous: no account, no cookie, nothing you type is stored beyond these choices. Figures appear once 3 owners have answered, and are published with the record under CC BY 4.0.
